LAHS Parent Volunteer Form

Translation? 
Use this form to sign up to Volunteer to benefit your student/s at LAHS.  There are many, fun and important opportunities.   Each parent/adult in the family is welcome to submit this form.
 
Any questions?  Please contact Amy Heath at lahsptsavol@gmail.com.
 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Check all Volunteer Opportunities below that you may be interested in.  
The Chairperson will contact you within the appropriate timeframe for each task.
 
Feel free to email the chairperson with any questions.
Athletic Boosters
Support LAHS sports teams through projects and fundraising activities.
Co-Chairs: Valerie Cairns, vjcairns@yahoo.com and
                 Angela Player, angela.player@gmail.com

Challenge Day
Volunteer for a day during this unique, experiential social & emotional
learning program for sophomores that is designed to ignite a shift toward  
greater school connectedness, empathy, and inclusivity.
Tentative dates:  Jan 7-8
Chair(s):  TBD 
We are still looking for chairpersons for Challenge Day.  If you would be willing to chair or co-chair this event please indicate that in the comments for Challenge Day.
Elists
Maintain the lists, permissions and addresses in the e-list system;
moderate incoming messages (requires UNIX and Excel knowledge).     
Chair: Kim Sheehan, kim@sheehangroup.net
Go Green
Plan and implement green practices and activities for the school
.           

Chairs:   TBD
We are still looking for chairpersons for Go Green.  If you would be willing to chair or co-chair this committee please indicate that in the comments for Go Green.
Grad Night 2022
Volunteer to help with the graduation party for seniors (~Jun 3).               

Co-Chairs: Jenn Donovan, jennrae19@gmail.com,
                 Betsy Schmitt, betsy.schmitt@gmail.com
                 Leslie Shaw, ljscwo@yahoo.com, and
                 Lisa Skaggs, lisaskaggs@gmail.com
                

Graduation Reception
Set up and serve refreshments for seniors and guests following                
graduation.     Date:  June 3, 2022

Chair person: TBD  (Non-senior parent)
We are still looking for chairpersons for Graduation Reception.  If you would be willing to co-chair this event and are not a parent of a senior, please indicate that in the comments for Graduation Reception.
Homecoming Reception Decorations
Responsible for the decorations for the brunch given for members          
of the Homecoming Court and their families (October 29).

Chair person: TBD
We are still looking for chairpersons for Homecoming Reception Decorations.  If you would be willing to co-chair this event, please indicate that in the comments for Homecoming Decorations.
Instrumental Music Boosters  
Help fundraise and provide logistical support to the Instrumental Music           
Program and its performances.

Co-chairs: Chris Hondl, chondl@gmail.com
                OPEN
             
LUCHA (Latino Alliance)
Inform, support and educate Latino parents about the educational          
system and their role in the academic success of their children.            

Chair: Maria Hoerni, maria.hoerni@mvla.net 
MVLA High School Foundation
Telephone for pledges during the Fall phonathon. Spanish and                
Mandarin speakers needed.

Chair: Kristine Bardman, kristine.bardman@mvla.net
Office Volunteers
Provide assistance to Students & Parents at the Counseling Office         
Volunteer Desk OR File Attendance Slips in the Attendance Office.

Chair: Ria Friedman, riafriedman@gmail.com
Parent Education
Help co-ordinate programs, parenting and wellness speakers.                 
Chair: Megan Crissman, megan_crissman@hotmail.com
Pizza Cart
Staff the noontime pizza cart.                                                                          

Chair: Sharon Tan, sharontantan@yahoo.com
Snack Bar
Staff the noontime Snack Bar.                                                                         
Chair: Natasha Stirrup, natashastirrup@hotmail.com
Staff Appreciation
Co-ordinate staff appreciation for teachers and staff.  In the past          
appreciation was in the form of a breakfast in August and a dinner in
October. 

Co-Chairs: Anusuya Rao, anusuya@gmail.com
                 Duygu Yenier, dooygu@gmail.com
STEAM Week
Help find inspiring speakers for our students, or help with logistics       
during STEAM week, 
likely early second semester
Co-Chairs: Daisy Capetz (daisycapetz@gmail.com)
                  Amanda Hashfield 
(ahashfie@gmail.com)
Student Directory
Help with setting up Online Student directory                                                   
                                                                             

Textbooks
Volunteer to help distribute textbooks at the beginning of the year and/or
reshelve at the end of the year.  Shifts are typically 2 hours in the
textbook room.                                                  

Chair: Martha Billsmartha.bills@mvla.net
Translations
Help translate and interpret for non-English speakers as                         
needed.                                                                            
Chair: Maria Hoerni, maria.hoerni@mvla.net
Interpret (Speak)? *
Translate (Write)? *
Interpret (Speak)? *
Translate (Write)? *
Interpret (Speak)? *
Translate (Write)? *
Writers Week
Help plan the event (March 15-18, 2022), escort writers to classrooms,    
bring salad/baked goods for lunches.                                                   

Co-chairs: Julie Watsonjulie@jkwatson.com
                Anjana Nagarajan-Butaney anjana.nagarajan1@gmail.com