LAHS Parent Volunteer Form

Translation? Espanol? Mandarin?
Use this form to sign up to Volunteer to benefit your student/s at LAHS.
There are many, fun and important opportunities.
Each parent/adult in the family is welcome to submit this form.
 
Any questions?  Please contact Jen Denebeim at lahsptsavol@gmail.com.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Check all Volunteer Opportunities below that you may be interested in.  
The Chairperson will contact you within the appropriate timeframe for each task.
 
NOTE:  Due to the Corona pandemic, volunteer opportunities are uncertain. 
Thank you in advance for your patience AND for signing up to help.  PTSA hopes to have
volunteers available to support the school quickly as situations change. 
 
Feel free to email the chairperson with any questions.
Athletic Boosters
Support LAHS sports teams through projects and fundraising activities.
Co-Chairs: Valerie Cairns, vjcairns@yahoo.com and
                 Angela Player, angela.player@gmail.com

Challenge Day
Volunteer for a day during this unique, experiential social & emotional
learning program for freshman that is designed to ignite a shift toward  
greater school connectedness, empathy, and inclusivity.
Tentative dates:  Jan 7-8
Co-Chairs: Sara Hurst, sarajhurst@yahoo.com and
                 Melissa Schill mschill14@gmail.com
Elists
Maintain the lists, permissions and addresses in the e-list system;
moderate incoming messages (requires UNIX and Excel knowledge).     
Chair: Kim Sheehan, kim@sheehangroup.net
Go Green
Plan and implement green practices and activities for the school
.           

Co-Chairs: Sophia Volkel, hellodean@gmail.com
                  Sudha Bala, sudhabala1000@gmail.com
Grad Night 2021
Plan the all-night Graduation party for seniors (Jun 4).                              

Co-Chairs: Liz Pidto, lizzep@comcast.com, and
                Tanya Dargel, tanya36@gmail.com
Graduation Reception
Set up and serve refreshments for senior and guests following                
graduation.     

Chair person: TBD  (Non-senior parent)
We are still looking for chairpersons for Graduation Reception.  If you would be willing to co-chair this event and are not a parent of a senior, please indicate that in the comments for Graduation Reception.
Homecoming Reception Decorations
Responsible for the decorations for the brunch given for members          
of the Homecoming Court and their families (Usually Fri late October).

Chair person: TBD
We are still looking for chairpersons for Homecoming Reception Decorations.  If you would be willing to co-chair this event, please indicate that in the comments for Homecoming Decorations.
Instrumental Music Boosters  
Provide financial and logistical support to the Instrumental Music           
Program and its performances.

Co-chairs: Julie Watson, julie@jkwatson.com and
                 Kathy Stiles, kstiles@sonic.net
LUCHA (Latino Alliance)
Inform, support and educate Latino parents about the educational          
system and their role in the academic success of their children.            

Chair: Maria Hoerni, maria.hoerni@mvla.net 
MVLA High School Foundation
Telephone for pledges during the Fall phonathon. Spanish and                
Mandarin speakers needed.

Chair: Kristine Bardman, kristine.bardman@mvla.net
Office Volunteers
Provide assistance to Students & Parents at the Counseling Office         
Volunteer Desk OR File Attendance Slips in the Attendance Office.

Chair: Sonia Brunner, sonia_brunner@yahoo.com
Parent Education
Help co-ordinate programs, parenting and wellness speakers.                 
Chair: Megan Crissman, megan_crissman@hotmail.com
Pizza Cart
Staff the noontime pizza cart.                                                                          

Chair: Erik Feldman, erikfeldman1@gmail.com
Snack Bar
Staff the noontime Snack Bar.                                                                         
Chair: Natasha Stirrup, natashastirrup@hotmail.com
Staff Appreciation
Co-ordinate staff appreciation for teachers and staff.  In the past          
this was showcased as a breakfast in August and a dinner in
October. 

Co-Chairs: Anusuya Rao, anusuya@gmail.com
                 Jennifer Urmson, jurmson@hotmail.com
STEAM Week
Help find inspiring speakers for our students, or escort speakers           
Mon,Tue,Thurs, October 19-23

Co-chairs: Laura Teksler, lteksler@me.com
                 Mike Ichiriu, chiriu@gmail.com
Student Directory
Compile Student directory                                                                                
Chair: Pamela Newmannewman.pamela@gmail.com
Textbooks
Enter Description, not on Google Sheet                                                         
Chair: Martha Billsmartha.bills@mvla.net
Translations
Help translate and interpret for non-English speakers as                         
needed.                                                                            
Chair: Maria Hoerni, maria.hoerni@mvla.net
Interpret (Speak)? *
Translate (Write)? *
Interpret (Speak)? *
Translate (Write)? *
Interpret (Speak)? *
Translate (Write)? *
Writers Week
Help plan the event (March 1-5, 2021), escort writers to classrooms,    
bring salad/baked goods for lunches.                                                   

Co-chairs: Julie Watsonjulie@jkwatson.com
                 Liane Wonglianewon@gmail.com