LAHS Parent Volunteer Form

Translation? Espanol? Mandarin?
Use this form to sign up to Volunteer to benefit your student/s at LAHS.
There are many, fun and important opportunities.
Each parent/adult in the family is welcome to submit this form.
 
Any questions?  Please contact Ria Friedman at riafriedman@gmail.com.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Check all Volunteer Opportunities below that you may be interested in.  
The Chairperson will contact you within the appropriate time frame for each task.
 
Feel free to email the chairperson with any questions.
Athletic Boosters
Support LAHS sports teams through projects and fundraising activities.
Co-Chairs: Ann Enthoven, ann.enthoven@gmail.com and
                 Bob Crissman, robertcrissman@ymail.com

Challenge Day
Volunteer for a day during this unique, experiential social & emotional
learning program for freshman that is designed to ignite a shift toward  
greater school connectedness, empathy, and inclusivity.  Dates?
Chair: Chris Cummins, chrisdpcummins@yahoo.com
College and Career Center
Assist in the College and Career Center as needed.                                     
Chair: Susan Stark, susanestark@sbcglobal.net
Elists
Maintain the lists, permissions and addresses in the e-list system;
moderate incoming messages (requires UNIX and Excel knowledge).     
Chair: Kim Sheehan, kim@sheehangroup.net
Go Green
Plan and implement green practices and activities for the school
.           

Co-Chairs: Sophia Volkel, hellodean@gmail.com
                 Sudha Bala, sudhabala1000@gmail.com
Grad Night 2020
Plan the all-night Graduation party for seniors.                                             

Co-Chairs: Michelle Lee, mslee444@gmail.com
                 Valerie Cairns, vjcairns@yahoo.com
Graduation Reception
Set up and serve refreshments for senior and guests following                
graduation.     

Chair: Liz Pidto, lizzep@comcast.net
Homecoming Reception Decorations
Provide decorations for the brunch for members of the Homecoming    
Court and their families (Date?).

Chair person and email address TBD
We are still looking for chairpersons for Homecoming Reception Decorations.  If you would be willing to co-chair this event, please indicate that in the comments for Homecoming Decorations.
Instrumental Music Boosters  
Provide financial and logistical support to the Instrumental Music         
Program and its performances.

Chair: Julie Watson, julie@jkwatson.com
LUCHA (Latino Alliance)
Inform, support and educate Latino parents about the educational  
system and their role in the academic success of their children.            

Chair: Maria Hoerni, maria.hoerni@mvla.net 
Lunch/Pizza Cart
Staff the noontime pizza cart.                                                                        

Chair: Erik Feldman, erikfeldman1@gmail.com
MVLA High School Foundation
Telephone for pledges during the Fall phonathon. Spanish and              
Mandarin speakers needed.

Chair: Laura Roberts, laura.roberts@mvla.net
Office Volunteers
Provide assistance to Students & Parents at the Counseling Office      
Volunteer Desk OR File Attendance Slips in the Attendance Office.

Chair: Sonia Brunner, sonia_brunner@yahoo.com
Parent Education
Help co-ordinate programs, parenting and wellness speakers.             
Chair: Susan Stark, susanestark@sbcglobal.net
Snack Bar
Staff the noontime Snack Bar.                                                                      
Chair: Natasha Stirrup, natashastirrup@hotmail.com
Staff Appreciation
Co-ordinate the Aug ??th breakfast and October ??th dinner for          
teachers and staff.

Co-Chairs: Anusuya Rao, anusuya@gmail.com
                 Jennifer Urmson, jurmson@hotmail.com
STEAM Week
Help find inspiring speakers for our students, or escort speakers       
Mon,Tue,Thurs, October ???

Co-chairs: Laura Teksler, lteksler@me.com
                 Mike Ichiriu, chiriu@gmail.com
Student Directory
Compile Student directory                                                                           
Chair: Pamela Newmannewman.pamela@gmail.com
Textbooks
Enter Description, not on Google Sheet                                                    
Chair: Martha Billsmartha.bills@mvla.net
Translations
Help translate and interpret for non-English speakers as                     
needed.                                                                         

Chair: Maria Hoerni, maria.hoerni@mvla.net
Interpret (Speak)? *
Translate (Write)? *
Interpret (Speak)? *
Translate (Write)? *
Interpret (Speak)? *
Translate (Write)? *
Writers Week
Help plan the event (Dates?), escort writers to classrooms,    
bring salad/baked goods for lunches.                                                   

Co-chairs: Julie Watsonjulie@jkwatson.com
                 Liane Wonglianewon@gmail.com